The team is joined by Guest Kats Rosie Burbidge, Stephen Jones, Mathilde Pavis, and Eibhlin Vardy, and by InternKats Verónica Rodríguez Arguijo, Hayleigh Bosher, Tian Lu and Cecilia Sbrolli.

Thursday, 13 November 2008

EPO: now we are 35

The EPO has just announced that the government of Macedonia (apparently more preferably known as "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", to distinguish it from a next door bit of Greece) deposited their instrument of ratification to the European Patent Convention on 28 October.

(right: a traditional Macedonian instrument of ratification, which can be purchased here)

Macedonia, which is currently an extension state will, as from 1 January 2009, become the 35th member state of the EPC.  European and Euro-PCT applications filed as from that date will have Macedonia automatically designated.  All Macedonians (not just Greek ones) will also be able to use the EPO as a receiving office for filing PCT applications.  It will not be possible to designate retrospectively, but the EPO will allow applications filed on or after 1 December 2008 to be redated if required. 

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

All Macedonians (not just Greek ones)

I expect that the IPKat realises that with such a statement he's walking on really thin ice with respect to our even thinner-skinned Hellenic friends?

Subscribe to the IPKat's posts by email here

Just pop your email address into the box and click 'Subscribe':